Endorsement from Chairman of the California Democratic Party John Burton Demonstrates Correa’s Widespread Appeal

Santa Ana, CA—Following an outpouring of support from grassroots activists and local leaders as well as a recent groundbreaking endorsement from the California Democratic Party, today, former State Senator Lou Correa won the support of John Burton, Chairman of the California Democratic Party, in the race to represent California’s 46th Congressional District. 
In announcing his support for Correa, Chairman of the CA Democratic Party John Burton released the following statement: 
“I served with Lou Correa in the State Legislature, where his hard work and dedication to his district earned my respect.  Today, he has my full support and endorsement.  Lou will make an outstanding Congressman and represent the people of Orange County and all of California with the highest level of public service.” 
Upon hearing the news, former State Senator Lou Correa commented: 
“It is an absolute honor to have the official support of CDP Chairman John Burton. As one of the most forward-thinking and inspirational leaders in California, his support means a great deal to me. I look forward to building coalitions in Congress and working alongside my fellow legislators to address the issues that working families care about. In Washington, I will fight to expand economic opportunities for workers, institute comprehensive immigration reform, improve our public education system, and increase public safety.” 

This announcement comes on the heels of endorsements from scores of major labor groups, organizations and elected officials, including:

·  California Democratic Party (CDP)
·  California Labor Federation
·  United Association Local Union 250: Steamfitters & Refrigeration
·  California School Employees Association (CSEA)
·  California State Association of Letter Carriers (CSALC) 
·  The California Statewide Law Enforcement Association (CSLEA)
·  United Farm Workers of America (UFW)
·  California Police Chiefs' Association
·  Peace Officers Research Association of California (PORAC)
·  National Latino Peace Officers Association
·  California Small Business Association
·  Building Our Leadership Diversity (BOLD) PAC
·  International Union of Painters and Allied Trades District Council 36
·  International Union of Operating Engineers Local 501
·  Santa Ana School Police Officers' Association
·  Santa Ana Police Officers' Association
·  Anaheim Police Officer's Association Political Action Committee
·  Orange County Deputy District Attorneys
·  Garden Grove Firefighters Association
·  Garden Grove Police Officers Association
·  Californians for Humane Immigrant Rights Leadership Action Fund (CHIRLA Action Fund)
·  Orange County Business Council
·  Association of Orange County Deputy Sheriffs

Elected Leaders:
·  House Democratic Leader & Congresswoman Nancy Pelosi
·  House Democratic Whip & Congressman Steny Hoyer
·  House Democratic Caucus Chair & Congressman Xavier Becerra
·  Congressional Progressive Caucus Co-Chair and Congressman Raúl M. Grijalva
·  Congressional Hispanic Caucus Chair and Congresswoman Linda Sánchez
·  Former State Assembly Speaker & Congresswoman Karen Bass
·  Congresswoman Loretta Sanchez
·  Congresswoman Judy Chu
·  Congressman Juan Vargas
·  Congressman Alan Lowenthal
·  Congressman Pete Aguilar
·  Congressman Ted Lieu
·  Congressman Tony Cardenas
·  Congresswoman Norma Torres
·  Congressman Raul Ruiz, MD.
·  Congressman Ruben Gallego
·  Congressman Luis Gutierrez
·  Congressman Ruben Hinojosa
·  Congressman  Filemon Vela
·  California’s State Treasurer John Chiang
·  California’s Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson
·  California State Senate President Pro-Tem Kevin de León
·  California Board of Equalization Chair Jerome Horton
·  California Lt. Governor Cruz Bustamante (Ret.)
·  Chairman of the California Democratic Party John Burton
·  California Latino Legislative Caucus Chair and State Assemblyman Luis Alejo
·  California Legislative Black Caucus Chair & State Assemblyman Reggie Jones-Sawyer
·  California State Senator and former Air Force General Richard Roth
·  California State Senator & LGBT trailblazer Mark Leno
·  California State Senator & Labor Committee Chair Tony Mendoza
·  California State Assemblywoman & former San Diego Central Labor Council Leader Lorena Gonzalez
·  California State Senator Lois Wolk
·  California State Senator Jerry Hill
·  California State Assemblywoman Susan Talamantes–Eggman
·  California State Assemblyman Henry Perea
·  California State Assemblywoman Sharon Quirk Silva (Ret.)
·  California Supreme Court Justice, Hon., Cruz Reynoso (Ret.)
·  California State Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia
·  California State Assemblyman Jose Medina
·  Orange County Sheriff Sandra Hutchins
·  Santa Ana City Council Member Michele Martinez
·  Santa Ana Unified School District Board President John Palacio
·  Santa Ana Unified School District Clerk Valerie Amezcua
·  Santa Ana Unified School District Board Member José Alfredo Hernández, J.D.
·  Santa Ana City Councilwoman Angie Amezcua
·  Buena Park City Councilman Art Brown
·  Anaheim Union High School District Board President Annemarie Randle-Trejo
·  Anaheim Union High School District Board Member Al Jabbar
·  Anaheim City School District Board of Education President Bob Gardner
·  Anaheim City School District Board of Education Member Ryan Ruelas
·  Anaheim Police Chief John Welter (Ret.)*
·  City of Garden Grove City Council Member Kris Beard
·  Huntington Beach Unified School District Board Member Bonnie Castrey
·  Los Angeles City Councilman, past State Senator Gil Cedillo
·  Artesia City Council Member Ali Sajjad Taj
·  Coast Community College Trustee Jim Moreno
·  Former Mayor of Huntington Beach Linda Moulton-Patterson
·  Coast Community College Trustee, former Congressman, and former Mayor of Santa Ana Jerry Patterson

Community Leaders:
·  California Democratic Party LGBT Caucus Southern California Chair & California Democratic Party Executive Board Member Denise Penn
·  South County Labor Chair Ray Cordova*
·  Orange County-based LGBT activist Gregory Willenborg*
·  Pastor of the largest African American church in Orange County, the Rev. Mark E. Whitlock, Jr.*
*Titles for Identification Purposes Only.

For more information, please visit